What do you think?

Over the last year or so, I’ve uploaded over 100 poems to this WordPress blog and its modest readership.

Oftentimes, I make references within my poems to all sorts of different things that catch my eye/imagination.

 

My question to any caring to respond is this:

Would it be detrimental or beneficial if I were to include links within my poem that enlighten the reader as to any references I may use?

 

Answers on a postcard.

…or just take part in the poll

 

Abiento!

 

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “What do you think?

  1. I’m intrigued by your question. As a writer and lover of poetry I’m fine without the links to references. The only question is… what is your intention when you write a poem? It’s my understanding that poetry is an artform that is about subtraction.

    • Hi Michele

      It may seem strange, but I’ve never really been a big reader of poetry; though I have recently begun reading Francis Ponge and Yu Kwang-Chung.

      Like many poets (I imagine), I generally try to be succinct by using metaphor; subtractive, I guess.

      However, I’m a big believer in the ubiquity of knowledge and have found that, in not having a traditional literary background, the “high brow” nature of poetry can leave one out in the cold.

      As an illustration of sorts, I first heard Wagner’s Ride of the Valkyries when Elmer Fudd sang Kill da Wabbit in What’s Opera, Doc? 🙂

Your thoughts on my thoughts

